I lost our gentlemen’s bet.

-Gentleman’s bet: A bet in which nothing is wagered. The winner receives nothing but respect.

My friend (who will remain nameless but I guarantee if you know me you will be able to guess who it is) and I made a “Gentleman’s Bet.” I don’t know why this came to fruition but I have to give it to him; he won.

Last week we were at my house having some beers, playing Sega and relaxing. The two of us have been friends for a while and we even carpool to work since we both have jobs in the same area. “Man, wouldn’t I be awesome If I came over before work and had a few beers!” my friend drunkenly slurred as we both mashed the Sega controllers trying to perform fatalities in Mortal Kombat (I swear, when you are drunk and trying to play video games, mashing the controller with your palm and thumbs is the best plan of attack, they never see it coming). “Man, if you had a beer and defeated Mortal Kombat before work you would be the king of the world!” I said almost incoherently right before Scorpion ripped his mask off and lit Sub-Zero on fire. ” That’s like a whole days worth of activities and you could accomplish that before 7:15am!… Damn man, you are good at this game.” under my breath putting the controller down. “Dude! I bet you I’ll do it!” My friend said very arrogantly as we made our way to the refrigerator for another beer.

A few mornings later as we were driving into work I turned and said to him “Hey man, are you ever going to come over and beat Mortal Kombat and drink a beer before work or what?” We may have been drunk but I still had my wits about me when he said he’d do it. “Oh, I don’t know man, should I?” He said in response “Hell yeah!” I barked back “You said you would man! And if you don’t, you’re a dickhead!” I have my ways of persuasion.

Needless-to-say the very next working, bright and early, as I was still getting ready for work he busted through my door and ordered, “Get me a beer. I have a game to beat.” Sounding very much like The Dark Knight. I got him a Rolling Rock and had to tip my hat to him as he drank it winning versus Goro and Shang Tsung. Think about it; if this is what our Wednesday morning is like, imagine our Saturday!

Cheers!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, What the Hell

2 responses to “I lost our gentlemen’s bet.

  1. Nice know your views regarding the same. Prefer your ways and style to look stylish and cool.

Leave a comment