3rd Wheel?

As I was taking the short drive over to Jamie’s house the other day I saw a teenage couple trying to swallow each other’s heads on the corner of a very conservative and quiet neighborhood. As I kept driving I saw another girl maybe a half a block behind them just standing staring at them terribly miserable with her arms crossed. The couple started walking (as I pulled up to the stop sign) and the partner-less weird-o followed like a little lost puppy as the girl who just had her tongue halfway down this greasy, pants sagging boys throat took enough time to catch her breath and put out her had for her friend to follow. That’s when I realized the lone girl wasn’t just a creep staring at two kids making out (wishing it were her who could swap spit on the street for everyone to see) she was with them. I couldn’t help but want to yell “3rd wheel!” but I stopped myself (not because my conscience kicked in) because I realized; what the hell does that mean?

What the hell is a “3rd Wheel?” I mean I get it …but who the hell came up with that? And what the hell was that person riding? A bike? If they were riding a bike were they the kind of person who should be yelling something like this or calling anyone out for being a 3rd wheel? You’re riding a bike man; you’re by yourself on a Saturday night riding around being weird…who is the loser here? And if he was riding a motorcycle did he really have time to say that enough so it would catch on? And what is so bad about three wheels? I had a big wheel when I was a kid and that thing ruled.

After discussing this topic with family and friends they all tried to explain to me what it meant. I know what it means but it still just doesn’t make sense.

What about unicycles?

 

 

Cheers!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment